When Your Plans Fail

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand. -Proverbs 19:21

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps. -Proverbs 16:9

We sometimes expect too much from ourselves, and sometimes pressure ourselves to do and achieve the impossible. We want the best for us, and sometimes pray to God selfish prayers about the things we want to achieve in life, and all the plans we have on our Bucket list.

Let me share to my readers the plans I used to have for myself:

  • I used to have a bucket list, but the constant thing about my bucket list is, it keeps on changing. There are a lot of things that I want to do before, and since I didn’t know before what I really want to do, I keep on changing my bucket list depending on what I want as of that moment. It never worked. It only showed how selfish I was.
  • I used to be a worrier in my studies during my high school and college days. I had a problem with numbers all the time. I hate Calculus and Physics, and the help of a calculator doesn’t even help me at all. Although I was doing well on my other subjects but my grades in those subjects dragged my final grade down. Their effects are like gravity. I cannot resist it. I thought a study plan can help, but since my motives were not right, it only did some slight effect.
  • I used to desire and plan to visit places abroad. I used to think I should not get married without visiting first specific places. I realized those desires are selfish. That’s not the will of God for me.
  • I used to dream and plan my future wedding with all the small details. It’s every girl’s dream though, but too much emphasis on it is a bit of a problem. We should not plan things that are lust-driven; like using a luxurious car on your wedding day or have a million-worth wedding. It’s pointless. Very, very lust-driven.
  • I used to desire to do ‘good things’ towards strangers, like feed orphans, etc. But my very motive before is just to feel good about myself, and let all the people see how good I am without knowing that the good things we do are filthy rags in God’s eyes:

All of us have become like one who is unclean, and all our righteous acts are like filthy rags; we all shrivel up like a leaf, and like the wind our sins sweep us away. -Isaiah 64:6

Those are the plans that I have for myself when I’m still not a true Christian. Fallen man is naturally selfish. In man’s eyes, it’s okay, but in God’s eyes it’s not. We sometimes boast about the plans we have for ourselves or for our families without asking God what is His will for us. There’s nothing good that flows from a fallen man’s heart. Everything is lust driven, selfish, and prideful. 

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.” -James 4:13-15

Most of the people now believe that there is a God. Although a fallen man grasps nothing about the things from above, they sometimes think of God as someone who makes their dreams come true. They view God selfishly without truly knowing that if He is really a God, it’s not our plans that should be fulfilled, it’s His.

Worse, when all the plans we have for ourselves go wrong, we blame everything to God. Some are even faithful to God thinking that if they’re faithful, God will give them everything even their selfish desires.

God didn’t promise us our best life now. Christians will be hated and persecuted. We will suffer because this world is not our home.  He didn’t promise us a prosperous life on earth. He only promised eternal life for those who does the will of His Father who is in heaven. No amount of positive declarations of a fallen man can stop God from doing what He wants to do. He is God, and we are not. The final verdict is in His hands alone.

Declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, “My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose” -Isaiah 46:10

The selfishness of a man comes out when his plans don’t come true. He thinks as if God owes him something. A fallen man considers his faith as a prerequisite for a good life here on earth, but that’s not how we truly measure someone’s faith. We measure someone’s faith with his obedience to the will of God. If he obeys God, his faith is really genuine. 

A man who has a genuine faith doesn’t think of a prosperous life here on earth. He is willing to suffer because he knows the cost of being a Christian; it will cost him everything. It’s not the plans of his heart the he wants to fulfill. It’s the will of God that he wants to follow.

God has a plan for us all. He didn’t made a world to let it go it’s own way. He planned everything perfectly. All we have to do is to submit to His plans by the help of God Himself. 

Everything has already been decided. It was known long ago what each person would be. So there’s no use arguing with God about your destiny. -Ecclesiastes 6:10

When every plans of my heart were already surrendered to Christ, and I become willing to follow His ways through the help of the Holy Spirit, it all went well for me. There has been lesser and lesser worries everyday of my life. I know I am in good hands because, all things work together for good for those who love the LORD.

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose. -Romans 8:28

As Christians, we should already be dead to our selfish plans. We should submit to the plans that God has for us. He deserves our wholehearted worship, so let’s give up everything if we really want to follow Him.

We should not leave a part of us that longs and plans of something that is in the world. Our desires should all for God’s glory and not ours. Let David’s prayer be our prayer, too.

I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart. -Psalm 40:8

God bless you, readers!

Soli Deo Gloria

In Christ,

KrizSummer

3 Comments Add yours

  1. “For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes.”
    How true. This was a good post.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Amen. ^_^

      Thank you. God bless you. 🙂

  2. Mdub says:

    Amazing post and so true, thanks!

Share Your Thoughts

