Letting Go of My Career

I grew up setting goals for me to achieve.

I wanted to finish studies, help my parents, build my dad his dream house and the list goes on. It may sound like the typical goal, but growing up in a household which I am the eldest; I took those goals seriously knowing how hard my parents worked to pursue our studies.

The Lord opened the biggest turning point in my life when I received a college scholarship at De La Salle University in Laguna. I was hesitant to take it because it was very far and I’m not used to the city. But after much thought and prayers, I finally took it with both my parent’s blessings.

My ever supportive mom accompanied me throughout college which I am very grateful until this day, her guidance made my college life struggles manageable.

It still was not an easy transition, we struggled a lot financially because it was a “rich kid’s school” and I considered myself one of the few poor students who only got there because it was free. But amidst all that, 5 years forward, I got a degree in Industrial Engineering by God’s grace. That was only the beginning of how the Lord has shown Himself mighty in my life.

As I look back on all those times; the Lord knew a hidden desire in my heart. A desire that I didn’t give much thought or even shared with others because I have set my mind on my own plan and goals for my life.

But He saw through me, He saw the loneliness of not having close friends (because of my introvert personality and my aloofness back then). Truth is; I longed for companionship, to have someone to share my triumphs and failures, someone I can call my best friend. 

“Before I formed you in the womb, I knew you…” Jer 1:5

MY LOVE STORY

When I was younger, I told my parents about my dream of someday marrying my blue-eyed soulmate, travel across the globe and touch the snow. Of course, it was one of those goofy conversations over dinner. Little did I know, that dream wasn’t as far-fetched as I thought it would be.

The Lord unfolded His beautiful plan for my life, in the most unexpected and unusual circumstance.

I was on my second year of college: the point on most students’ life, where the silver lining of finishing college seems far out of sight. To be completely honest, my spiritual life during those times was dry and not something I’m proud of either. I’ve been caught up with the stress of finishing my degree and I have been complacent in serving the Lord, I feel unworthy of His faithfulness to me amidst my complacency.

The Lord lifts  you up when you are down, “Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you …”Ps 55:22.

I met Andrew during those trying times of my college life, we met on a Christian site on October 29,2010.  I sent him a wink smiley face and wasn’t expecting much from it, he messaged me back with a polite and long message. From then on, we couldn’t get enough of each other. We talked about everything under the sun and I finally realized that the Lord gave me the best friend I have always longed for.

Our families were both from a similar Christian background and the deeper I got to know Him, the deeper I’ve known how He loves the Lord .We studied the bible, read purpose driven life and few more Christian books together, wrote each other poems ,sent each other letters and pictures and just grew together in the Lord. (II Corinthians 6:14)

It was hard not to fall for him when he pushes me to be closer to the Lord. He opened up to me one day about his feelings and how he feared that we’d lose our friendship because of his confession, and I told him I feel the same way.

After visiting Philippines the 3rd time, December of 2012, he proposed to me and I said yes. I was doing my final thesis and OJT, nearing my graduation, processing my fiancé visa paper works altogether but the hardest of them all was explaining everything to my parents.(because everything happened too fast). But one thing is for sure, if it is the Lord’s will, He’ll always make it happen. He sustained me all the way through.

There are many devices in a man’s heart; nevertheless the counsel of the Lord, that shall stand Proverbs 19:21

 I finished my degree but wasn’t able to attend my own graduation ceremony because I had to fly to US right away. I did not get to plan my wedding but when we got to Colorado, my in-laws and the church already prepared our wedding for us. It was a very touching gesture from people I’ve never met before. Although my parents were not present on the most important occasion of my life, I was thankful because they warmly welcomed me into their family.

THE SACRIFICE I MADE

I gave up my career to embrace motherhood and focus on my family instead of myself. Life did not turn out the way I planned, but I couldn’t be anymore joyful because I am right where the Lord wants me to be.

Being a housewife and a full-time mom is no easy feat, many times along the way I grew weary.

My sinful flesh takes me back to reminisce things I failed to do and ask many “what-ifs”, but I return to His word and find my peace and comfort in His promise.

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.Phil 4:7

People may perceive getting married as the so called “happily ever after” that fairytales portray and having babies as “all rainbows and butterflies, smiles and coos”. But in reality, marriage and motherhood is more than that.

It takes constant work, patience and forgiveness to stick by your spouse when they’re repulsive, and not lose your temper when kids test you to your limit.

The key is praying together as a family and reading your bible as a family.  Ask the Lord for strength daily to be able to fulfill the task at hand, put Him as the center of your marriage and strive to do everything to bring glory to His name. We are far from perfect, my husband and I are flawed and will always be a work in progress until Jesus returns.

This life verse holds true in my life:

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9”.

I am blessed beyond measure, not by worldly treasures but by having a Savior that cares about the tiniest detail of my life.

He granted my heart’s desire to be married to my hazel-eyed soulmate (I’ve grown to love it more than blue eyes I once wished for.lol) and blessed me with two beautiful daughters, they are my pride and joy.

Above all else, I am eternally grateful to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ; His free gift of salvation and the blessed hope of His return.

If you have not accepted Jesus as your Savior; now is the right time to surrender your life to Him.

Let Him direct your life, He loves and cares for you.


15228064_10209905190259984_920666752_n.jpg

Shekainah Jean S. Ohman is a 25 year-old housewife and a mom of two. She lives in Texas, USA together with her husband, Andrew David Ohman and their two beautiful kids namely Shiloh and Naomi. She grew up in a small town in the southern part of the Philippines where both her parents serve as Pastors. She loves everything about Arts, Photography, Nature and Music. You can read more from her at Christ-Loving Mom

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Doctor Eamer says:

    Inspiring story. 🙂

    Single women must read this. Hehe But take precautions on online dating even though it’s a Christian site. 🙂

    1. KrizSummer says:

      ☺ Yes. But I think will na din ni LORD yun. 😊😊 She’s happy now. 😊

Share Your Thoughts

