Unending Possibilities

I’m a fan of Sci-fi movies especially those that have stories that revolve around the Quantum Universe Theory. It excites me and I love how it ignites my imagination and hunger for infinite possibilities.

Somehow that excitement for such kind of entertainment shows a desire that I was too afraid to share. I want infinite choices and at the same time, experience all of it.

Before I entered Med School, these were the dreams that I used to desire:

  • Dressmaker (When I was a toddler)
  • Paleontologist/Meteorologist (When I was in grade school)
  • Theatre Singer (Ooops. I guess, this one is one of my funny secrets. Haha!)
  • Soldier/Policewoman/Secret Agent (Haha!)
  • Historian (When I was 14. :D)
  • Interior Designer (When I was 16, I almost lose track on what to pursue because of this)
  • Astronaut (I was even in College already when I dreamed of this. haha. Too funny)
  • Physicist (Fourth Year in my Bacherlor’s Degree in Bio. Hoho. Career Choices Crisis?)
  • Molecular Biologist (When I was 23 years old)
  • Lawyer (I almost gave up Med School for this.)
  • Writer (not a “used to” because I still desire this)

In some point of our lives, we made a choice, and somehow we are curious what our life would look like if we picked those choices that we didn’t consider.

We wish we can try all of it so that if one choice fails in the end, at least we have a long list of options to choose from – without taking so much time in trying every option.

But life limits us to choose just one in every batch of life choices that we have to deal with. If one fails and you need to start over, you trade time for it. Nothing comes for free.

In every wrong move, it’s the time we have that we are killing.


So if you’re a dreamer just like me, it’s hard to choose just one. I may not want everything but I need to have many. I don’t want to be stuck in just one choice and regret not doing the others. I want to juggle many dreams as much as I can.

But as I grew older, I learned that dreaming too much is not bad, but wanting everything will someday harm you.

The moment you have right now will not be dealt rightly because you want another thing aside from that. You won’t learn the art of focus and the discipline that comes with it.

I can’t pursue all those dreams anymore (I even gave up dreaming most of them), but I still long to become a writer someday and write a book about something that matters to me the most. But I can’t do that as of the moment, and I don’t know when will I ever have a time to do so.

Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand. – Proverbs 19:21

That verse humbles me down and at the same time calms my heart. I know that God has bigger plans for me than what I have for myself.

Being in Med School was even the last in my long list of dreams. 

But it’s really comforting for me to realize that making it here is what God planned for me. And I hope through this, I will be His instrument in fulfilling His purpose.


Even if we trade our time with our every move, I hope you will learn to take just one step at a time. Don’t juggle everything at once because it’s the quality that you are throwing out of the picture. 

Learn to give your best on the choice you made.

And deal with your other choices later when you already master how to take the best out of your first choice.

Again, I don’t have plans to pursue all of those dreams that I listed above. That’s quite exhausting and I’ll die wanting every thing but my life has no purpose still. But there are dreams that need to be postponed for awhile because it’s not yet really the right time.

So I hope, my dear readers, learn to wait for the right time so you can make the best out of what you have today.

Put your hope in God alone, and believe that even if you cannot pursue it sooner, you will still be okay because you are exactly on the place or moment where He wants you to be.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. -Romans 15:13

In Christ,

KrizSummer

Share Your Thoughts

