My Love for the Orphans

Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. – James 1:27

When I was younger, I had a very different attitude towards kids. I hated kids. I didn’t like it when they baby talk or even when they play around and leave a very big mess. I didn’t see their smiles as something compelling. I once see them as a burden.

But when I grew more in Christ, my heart changed towards how I deal with them. I now find joy in their smiles, and even if how much mess up or dirty they are after playing, I still find them adorable.

For the past three years, I have been thinking about something that no one has instructed me to do so. It was something that occurred to me while I was studying the Word of GOD.

For you have not received a spirit of slavery leading to fear again, but you have received a spirit of adoption as sons by which we cry out, “Abba! Father!” – Romans 8:15

If there is something that GOD has done to us that leaves me with so much awe, it’s how the Father adopted us as His sons and daughters although we do not deserve it. We are sinners yet He is willing to change us and make us His own. 

By dwelling in such kind of love, I have eventually embraced the thought of adopting children someday.

It’s not because I fear I won’t get married and have babies. It’s all because I want to give some orphans a family.

For some it’s very weird especially if you are capable of having a biological family, but when it comes to adoption, I think this way:

If you think that giving money to an orphanage will suffice the love that those kids need, then you’re wrong. There are things that money can’t buy, and there are relationships that they have to feel first before they can learn to love, care and treasure the importance of having a family. Those are the things that you cannot give if you only love the orphans during your birthdays or when you give them enough money to survive. Someday they will long for a family that will love them. 

I am still 24 years old, yet I already dream of adopting children someday.

If GOD has shown such kind of love to us, then why can’t we extend it to them?

Think about the children who are victims of wars and abuses. Think about the trauma they have gone through. Those experiences will never be mended by any amount of money. They need love for them to heal. They need a family for them to survive.

I know many people won’t agree with me because even today when I share my thoughts on adoption, people will have something bad to say. Some even judged me of being too scared of not having my own family that’s why I’ve been thinking of adopting kids.

But I know in my heart that someday I will get married and have my own kids, but that should not hinder me from loving orphans and sharing them the love that the Father has shown me.

I will love them like I have carried them for months in my womb, and I will love them like how I see my biological kids someday.

Only GOD knows the reason why I am desiring this thing right now. I know He has plans that’s why He has been preparing my heart for something that my old self has not even imagined before.

Because I have always believed that…

If we want some change in our society that encourages abortion, be one of those who oppose it and say that “If you don’t love that baby, let me have that and I will love him/her as my own.”

In areas where poverty and war is real, be one of those who reach out and help in giving the kids a shelter and a family.

That is nothing compared to the love GOD has shown us. So don’t hold back the love that you can show to those who need it.  🙂

See how great a love the Father has bestowed on us, that we would be called children of God; and such we are For this reason the world does not know us, because it did not know Him. Beloved, now we are children of God, and it has not appeared as yet what we will be We know that when He appears, we will be like Him, because we will see Him just as He is. – 1 John 3:1-2

 

In Christ,

KrizSummer

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. pia jingco says:

    These are beautiful thoughts. My husband and I are in the process of preparing to adopt, so this post warms my heart 🙂
    I write a bit about this journey of ours in one of my blogs (http://hannahchronicles.wordpress.com), in case you’d like to read about it.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Awwww. ❤ I'm glad that someone loves the something that I've been desiring for a long time. God bless you and your husband, Ma'am. Thank you for making me happy tonight. 🙂 I get so happy when I know that a couple desires to adopt. 🙂

      1. pia jingco says:

        Thank you din! 🙂 We’re excited… and I’m looking forward to posting stories about our baby…soon!

Share Your Thoughts

