The Famous “Why” Question

“Why did you choose Medicine?” These are the words that people frequently ask us, and yet up to now, I still take a long pause every single time I am asked with that question. It seems like every time that question is thrown at me, all the memories of hardships that I went through since day one in Medical School flashes back, and brings me to some memories that are bittersweet and funny, but most of the time dramatic.

If you think about every sleepless nights, countless cups of coffees and all the tears you’ve cried in Med School, that question will be a hard one for you. You may even caught yourself saying, “That’s a good question, but I don’t exactly know the reason why I am here.”

During my undergraduate days, I only do study my Prelims, Midterms and Finals a night before the exam, but in Medicine, one night is most of the time not enough for you to give yourself a passing grade in the exam. Your study time will consume most of your time during the night, and sometimes you even have to study during the day while waiting for your classes to start.

In Medicine, you have to be very patient (especially when you get a low score despite all the efforts you’ve given), focused and passionate. If I was just being motivated of getting a lot of money in the future, I would have gone into business. And if prestige and fame is all that I want from this profession, politics would have been a better place for me. But I took Medicine simply because I love being here that I cannot imagine myself being somewhere else other than this field. I took up Medicine because this is what I would love to do.

The real thing is, I may sometimes find myself doubtful in my reason why I am here, especially when I only get to focus on the rough roads that I went through and will get through, I will always come back to the fact that it was love that brought me here, and with God guiding me all the ways through, I won’t back down anytime soon just because I have plenty of hardships and sacrifices in this field. 

It will always be my joy to be here, and even if my life as a Medical Student is never easy, I will always believe that everything will going to be worthwhile.

I can do all things through CHRIST who strengthens me. – Phil. 4:13

(Note: This is originally an article that I wrote for my school. I’m sorry I wasn’t able to write for the past months. I’ve been very busy. I hope all my readers are doing well. God bless you all.  🙂 In Christ, KrizSummer )

2 Comments Add yours

  1. It is sometimes unclear where God wants us to go, but I am sure of one thing, God’s plan for us is better than our well-thought plans.

    May God bless you more with wisdom and strength to continue your journey to success!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello. Thank you for those words. I appreciate it. I’m sorry if it took me so long to reply. GOD bless you. ☺

Share Your Thoughts

