All For The Love of CHRISTIAN BOOKS

Those who know me so well, they are aware that I love reading books! But I’m not your typical bookworm. 🙂 I’m very meticulous on what books to read. For me, what you read will eventually affect your thoughts, speech and actions. Some may not be consciously aware of it, but eventually they will realize that it will affect the way they live. I’m very careful on which books to read that it even came to a point where I spend more than an hour inside a Christian Bookstore just trying to figure out what’s worth buying or not. I also remember one time watching a video where a preacher said something like this: The most dangerous place a Christian could go, is inside a Christian Bookstore. I believe him with that because there are times that publishers label it as a “Christian Book” but it’s not even Christ-centered or Biblical.

So here in this post, I want to share the books that qualified my taste. 🙂 I chose them based on how Biblical they are, their level of reproach and God glorification; and how theologically correct they are (For the record, I’m not a theologian of something. I’m just very careful on what I read).

I hope, those who are reading this will find themselves buying the books that I recommend. 🙂

MY ALL-TIME FAVORITES

  • The Gospel According to Jesus by John MacArthur
  • Dug Down Deep by Joshua Harris
  • Desiring God by John Piper
  • Slave: The Hidden Truth and Your Identity in Christ by John MacArthur
  • Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung
  • The Jesus Letters by David Ravenhill
  • Follow Me by David Platt

BOOKS THAT I’VE READ

  1. I Kissed Dating Goodbye by Joshua Harris
  2. Joyfully Single by Jerome Sala
  3. Boy Meets Girl by Joshua Harris
  4. Passion and Purity by Elisabeth Elliot
  5. It’s Not About Me by Max Lucado
  6. Experiencing the Heart of Jesus by Max Lucado
  7. Let Me Be a Woman by Elisabeth Elliot
  8. Great Days with Great Lives by Charles Swindoll
  9. The Attributes of God by A.W. Tozer
  10. The Attributes of God by A.W. Pink
  11. Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper
  12. Calvin on Self Denial
  13. Gleanings of the Godhead by A.W. Pink
  14. Does God Desire All to be Saved? by John Piper
  15. Fifty Reasons Why Jesus Came to Die by John Piper
  16. Think: The Life of the Mind and the Love of God by John Piper
  17. Charity and Its Fruits by Jonathan Edwards
  18. Strange Fire by John MacArthur
  19. The Doctrine of Human Depravity by A.W. Pink
  20. Profiting from the Word by A.W. Pink
  21. A Tale of Two Sons by John MacArthur
  22. Hard To Believe by John MacArthur
  23. Five Points by John Piper
  24. Praying the Lord’s Prayer by J.I Packer

BOOKS THAT I’M ABOUT TO READ (Because of my very busy Schedule, I chose to schedule all the books that I will read for the next months. I already have a copy, but my schedule won’t allow me to read them all):

  • The Battle For The Beginning by John MacArthur
  • And The Angels Were Silent by Max Lucado
  • An Act Of God? by Erwin Lutzer
  • The Applause of Heaven by Max Lucado
  • Now That’s A Good Question by R.C. Sproul
  • Pursuing Holiness in the Lord by Jonathan Edwards
  • For His Pleasure by Alistair Begg
  • Rambles Through Bible Lands (It’s one of the oldest books that I have. It’s even literally falling apart. I tried to search who the author is but I wasn’t able to find. )
  • Sent by Jesus by D.B. Knox
  • Quiet Talks on Prayer by S.D. Gordon
  • A Sure Guide to Heaven by Joseph Alliene
  • Wind And Fire by Charles Spurgeon

Some of them are really hard to find. Some are expensive (really. haha). But all of them are worth buying and reading. I hope you’ll love the books that I’ve recommended!

ENJOY! 😀 God Bless you. 🙂

In Christ,

KrizSummer

(Photo Featured: from Favim. Thank you! :))

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Imay says:

    Oh we definitely have most of the same list 🙂 love John MacArthur, Joshua Harris, John Piper, and Elisabeth. I like to read book on godly womanhood. Nancy Leigh DeMoss and Elizabeth George are the good one. Definitely not Joel Osteen and Joyce Meyer 😉 lol

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hahaha. I don’t read Joel Osteen and Joyce Meyer books, too. Haha. 😀 I think I wasn’t able to spot yet books by Nancy Leigh DeMoss and Elizabeth George. 🙂 But if I’ll find some next time, I’ll try to buy one. 😀 Thanks!

      1. Imay says:

        I used to be a Joel Osteen fan, but I turned back from him when I learned how dangerous prosperity gospel is. Lol. Yeah, Nancy Leigh is really good. Revive Our Women Ministries. She teaches biblical womanhood.

      2. KrizSummer says:

        I’m glad you were able to realize that. Praise God! I also had my own story about prosperity gospel 3 years ago. It was only by God’s grace that I was able to know what’s right and wrong. 🙂 God bless you Ate Imay. 😀

      3. Imay says:

        Hahah totoo yan! 😀 ako, I learned it from our church. They are so good at exposing false teachings. Turning away from Joel Osteen was like turning away from rosaries and idols lol

      4. KrizSummer says:

        Haha. Indeed! Yung sa akin naman, naka join talaga ako nga church na prosperity gospel ung main sermons. Alam mo yung feeling na kinoconvict ka ng Holy Spirit na mali. Kasi pag binasa mo ung binibigay na Bible Verses iba yung tinuturo Niya. I was really burdened. Kasi diba pag sa prosperity gospel din, sometimes it’s about us not God. Pero alam ko kasi tlga, It’s not about us. It’s not our glory. Tapos nung time na yun, wala akong alam sa Prosperity Gospel. Pero umalis ako sa church na yun months after. Nung naka-alis na ako, dun ko lang din nalaman what is prosperity gospel. Praise God for the victory. 🙂

      5. Imay says:

        God bless din!! 🙂

  2. Mel says:

    Wonderful! Praise God! I love reading John Piper books as well as David Platt’s books- just finished “radical”. Puts life into perspective and what it REALLY means to be a follower of Christ!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Amen. 🙂 I’m glad to know that u love those writers too. God bless you. 🙂

  3. Hi Kriz, can you recommend a novel type Christian book? I’m a novel reader kasi eh. It’s hard to find a Christian novel (or I am not looking at the right place… haha). Thanks in advance.

    Btw, I will surely add those books you mention to my TBD. Haha. 🙂

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello. Do u read classics? CS Lewis wrote some of the best novels. He’s the only one I know. 🙂

      1. Oh. I’ve already read Chronicles of Narnia series. Haha.
        Yeah, I’m about to read Mere Christianity. 🙂

      2. KrizSummer says:

        Sorry. I’m really not into novels kasi. hehe. Don’t wori, if nahilig na ako jan, I will tell u. 😊😊😊😊

      3. Haha. Thanks btw. But i will definitely read the Christian books you enumerated there. Haha 🙂

      4. KrizSummer says:

        You’re welcome. 😊😊😊 God bless you. ☺☺☺

      5. God bless you too. Happy reading! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

