Four Things I Learned Last School Year

Hello! At last it’s the end of my School Year and I’ll be heading home few days from now. πŸ™‚

What I miss about blogging is not the thought that someone reads my posts or likes and shares it. What I miss the most is reading other people’s posts as they share their lessons in life and the things that inspires them. I might sometimes only leave a ‘like’ on a certain page (because I’m most of the time too shy to comment. haha), but I know deep inside that when I clicked the ‘like’ button, I really mean it. πŸ™‚

For those who do not know what I am up to, I actually entered Med School and yes, it’s really tough here. Less sleep and More coffee. πŸ™‚ Although what I am up to is not something that anybody can relate to, but the life lessons I learned are something that I want to share to all of you.

#1: Never be Lazy

You love to sleep, watch TV or just stare at nothing? Then my friend, I advice you to change the way you live. πŸ™‚ Being lazy in a big NO in Med School or else you will be left with nothing but bad grades. Same thing goes in real life; if you’re lazy, you will be left with nothing but bad consequences. I actually have a Bible verse posted beside my bed that says;

How long will you lie there, you sluggard?Β When will you get up from your sleep?Β A little sleep, a little slumber,Β a little folding of the hands to rest. (Proverbs 6:9-10)”.Β 

I posted that to remind me that I should not be lazy. I know how it feels to be compelled to sleep because I used to love sleeping too much, but then when you know that too much doesn’t give you much good results, you’ll finally come into your senses and stop whatever bad habits that you have.

#2 Patience is a lesson that I should learn every single day

Patience? I used to think I’m good at it. Not until I met people that makes it hard for me to hold unto my patience very tightly. I’ve met people that irritates me in many ways that I sometimes end up asking God for forgiveness for actually feeling that way.

I’ve met people who don’t understand the way I live my life, and so sometimes they take that fact against me and sometimes dubbed me as “No Fun” or “Kill-Joy” It’s just so easy to say ‘let it pass’ but there are just really times that I wanted to talk back and say “What if your definition of ‘Fun’ is not fun for me at all?”

Being a Christian, it’s hard when people try to call you names and insult you just because you don’t want to do the ‘fun’ things that they love. Worse, you sometimes end up being hated and looked down. But there’s one thing that we should all remember;The way we live our lives show so how we value God’s supremacy in our lives” Β 

#3 In times of Victory, Always lift up God’s Name, Not Yours. πŸ™‚

I’d humbly share that God has blessed me with good grades, and knowing my own capacity before, I know God has changed me in ways that I can never express. Good Grades might be nothing for some, but for me, I see God in every victory that I have in my studies. I can never boast of my own strength regarding this because God is the only source of true knowledge here on Earth. Not my books, Not my Professors. Only God.

One day in my class, I saw my classmate, looking very sad during a break in one of our subjects. With no hesitation, I approached him and asked him what’s wrong, and then he said that his grades is troubling him. He then asked me what’s my secret in passing our exams, and I answered him honestly.

I said, “I won’t give you advice on how to study because I know you know how. But I encourage you to pray not just before an exam but before you study. Ask the LORD to guide you on parts that you must know and which part will probably come out in the exam.” He just smiled and say thank you and I felt that he felt kind of awkward with my response. Maybe because he wasn’t expecting it. But in my part, I have no regrets. I know that’s the truth and whatever happens, I want to lift up God in all my achievements.

Few days after that, I saw his grades went up and sometimes he gets higher scores than me. And so one day I told him, “I’m glad you’re doing good now.” And he surprisingly answered “I actually followed your advice. And I’d like to say thank you for sharing your secret.” πŸ™‚

It’s very uplifting for me as a Christian to see that even though it started as an “awkward” conversation because we’re not that close, but God can actually use someone like me to send a message to someone else who needs help. It encourages me more to not lift up myself in times of victory, but to lift up the Name of God. Praise Him for all the great things that He has done in my life. πŸ™‚

#4 Shake off any attempts to compete with others

The world says, “Competition is good.” But let me tell you that, it only encourages us to envy others. πŸ™‚ Been there, done that. I used to compete with others just to attain a really good score. I thought I already overcome it completely, not until last school year. I know I was at the top, but there are times that I wanted more of it. It seems like I wanted to be the best in my class that I sometimes forgot that I am not here to top the class but to glorify God. Sadly, I used to think that ‘achieving’ and ‘glorifying God’ can be the same thing, but I was wrong. Achieving can glorify God in few ways, but glorifying God comes in many ways, and not just in aiming to be at the top.

Many students think that it’s the only way, but I tell you, it’s not. There are times that God obviously doesn’t want you to be at the very top because He wanted you to learn that worldly achievements is different from glorifying Him. Sharing Christ to your friends is even more noble than being on the top of your class. It doesn’t mean that I’m encouraging students to be lazy, but I’d like you to know that when God doesn’t allow you to be the best in this world, it’s because He wants you to love Him more and not what this world can offer.

In this deceiving world, we Christians should ALWAYS remember these words:

“For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world.” ~1 John 2:16

***

We may have different careers and live in different places, but sometimes God wants us to learn the same thing over and over again. I hope you are inspired and enlightened with these lessons that God has taught me from the past school year.

Always remember, We are first and foremost CHRISTIANS. What we achieve in this world is nothing compared to our God.Β πŸ™‚

God bless you.

Glory to God alone. πŸ™‚

In Christ,

KrizSummer

One Comment Add yours

  1. jackhoch says:

    Great blog – it was a really nice read

    I have a feeling that you might like my blog (also) on philosophy (https://camberidgetalk.wordpress.com/2015/05/08/question-who-the-hell-am-i/) and also this (https://camberidgetalk.wordpress.com/2015/05/10/time-is-all-we-have/)

    Cheers – Jack

Share Your Thoughts

