How Far Will You Go?

Last week, Philippines was once again in the midst of a typhoon (In fact, another one is here. Just a span of days and we have a typhoon again). So here I am, my classes were cancelled and that means I could have at least write. 🙂

I want to share what happened last Sunday.

Do you know how it feels to be on the middle of deciding if you have to go to church or not especially if it’s raining so bad? Me, I know.

I wouldn’t be honest if I say, “Of course I know what to do during days of storms! I will go to church. I will cross the flood and be there on time!” But I am not perfect. I sometimes have fears and doubts. In fact, last Sunday, I was contemplating if I will go to church or not. The rain was heavy and would not even stop. I was scared of being stranded. I was thinking that if I go to church and then the waters will rise, I have nowhere to go. I ‘d be stranded. But a part of me thinks it wouldn’t rain that much so I will absolutely go home safely.

But doubts still lingers and complacency found me.

Then after I prayed, I realize I would be stupid enough to just let a Sunday go without going to church and go on with the next days of my life empty. Although some would say, “Oh that’s fine. It’s just one Sunday.” But you know, there is really an empty part of me if I can’t to go church on Sundays or even go to church on the other days. Being in Christ has been my life since the day I accepted Him as my Lord and Savior, and having fellowship with my brothers and sisters in Christ, hearing God’s Word and worship Him are the things that make my week complete.

And so I’ve decided to go to church despite the raging storm outside. I have faith in Him that He will protect me all the way.  In fact, when I made it there, the rain stopped up until the church service ended. 

For a day in Your courts is better
  than a thousand elsewhere.
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
    than dwell in the tents of wickedness.

Psalm 84:10, ESV

God has ways of testing our faith. And that time was one of the days He tested me. 🙂

Just like the storm I went through, our lives will always have their ups and downs and how to survive during those drowning moments are up to how big your faith is.

How far will you go? How far will you go for God? What are the things you can sacrifice for Him? 

Most of the testings on faith for God come in forms of storms in life. It could be a battle on your health, finances, family problems or academics. It comes in many shapes and sizes just like the different ‘sets’ during an exam. But all of them only wants one thing…to test you…to test your faith.

God has been a good God for a very very long time, and even if you’re not aware of it, you are experiencing a life full of His goodness. He is also a faithful God that despite of our faults, He’s there to discipline and still remind us that we are His. And since you are worshiping a very good and faithful God, how far will you go for your love for Him?

Are you willing to cross heavy storms and have faith in Him all the days of your life? Are you willing to fight for Him, stand and be His instrument in leading the lost ones near Him? Are you willing to surrender your weapons of pride and secret sins because you love Him?

how farGod is not a cruel God. He doesn’t give trials that He knows you cannot survive. He tests His people depending on their capacities. He knows you so well that He knows what’s the best test for you.

We all go through trials, and maybe most of the people reading this have problems that I don’t know but has boggling them for a very long time. I am here to remind you that it’s just a test and not the end point. Do not consume yourself with hatred and remorse just because life has been hard on you.

It’s not a time to hate and get angry with God. It’s time to repent and truly be sorry of what you’ve been thinking about Him. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord because He doesn’t owe you anything but still He cares for you and loves you.

You might see your trials as storms that will never end, but surely God sees it way bigger than what your mind could ever imagine. You might see the bad part of the big picture, but God is looking on the bigger view of the picture that He is painting for you. He knows that every stroke He paints will all be working for a very beautiful canvass in the end.

Life is hard, I admit. But remember that it is a story written by God. A story written with defeats and victories, but everything should tell one thing…and it is to glorify Him.

God is not just glorified in happy moments. He is also glorified even when life torments you, but still He sees you fighting because you love Him and because you are willing to go beyond your doubts and fears.

Go as far as the distance of the Moon from Neptune. He is worth it. He is worth praising even if you are in the middle of a storm.

Hold on my dear readers, and continue to have faith. 🙂

” For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.”

2 Corinthians 4:17-18, ESV

Your sister in Christ,

KrizSummer

3 Comments Add yours

  1. rolerrol says:

    Hey Kriz!!!!
    It has a been such a long time not hearing from you. How are you????
    I have never experienced a typhoon but I have heard about them. I pray protection over you as you go in and go out.
    I was so glad to hear how you stepped out and trusted God on Sunday. We have all been given a measure of faith so we can use it and thats what you did! Even in the face of heavy rains you still went out in faith. That’s great to see.

    God is not just glorified in happy
    moments. He is also glorified even
    when life torments you, but still He
    sees you fighting because you love
    Him and because you are willing to
    go beyond your doubts and fears.

    That really encouraged me Kriz. God is glorified in the good and the bad because we still press on seeking Him. What a profound thought! Have a great weekend Kriz and God bless!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello Rolain. Sorry it took me some time before responding. I was busy for the past days. I’m doing good by God’s grace. 🙂 The typhoon is now out of our country but it has destroyed many places especially metro manila. 😦 I’m glad you were encouraged by this. God bless you Rolain. 🙂

      1. rolerrol says:

        Sorry to hear about that Kriz……I hope you were safe during the typhoon! Was the area you were living in badly affected?? Did the typhoon take any lives? (I hope not) 😦
        If you need prayer for any thing just let me know…..

Share Your Thoughts

