There’s Nothing That My Hands Can Ever Do

Just this noontime, after I did the laundry, I have unintentionally locked myself inside my room. A very crazy moment, but it reminded me of something that is worth telling.

So here’s the story…

As what my other blog entries said, I’ve just moved into another city here in my country to pursue my studies. And just like other students out there, I rented a room. This one is at the topmost floor of the building with me having a private access of the rooftop. Perfect, right? But not my door knob.

I’m not that good when it comes to some manly works just like fixing the door knob, the faucet, and electrical wiring. In fact, I’m still waiting for my Dad to visit here so he could help me do those things. But since my safety is not an issue because I’m the only occupant in this floor and my door knob is still working good for the past days (although I was able to feel that it wouldn’t last long), I opted not to call our land lady’s attention for this.

And yeah, my intuition was right. It didn’t last long. It eventually gave up and locked me inside. Good thing, I’m not prone to some panic attack. I calmly took my screw driver (I don’t know why) and do some ‘hopeful’ fixing. I kept on jarring the door knob thinking it will loosen up something inside and then magically unlock itself, but minutes passed, I’m still locked inside.

But then I have three choices: (1) Call our land lady who’s at the ground floor, (2) Shout like there’s no tomorrow to get someone’s attention or (3) Still do the ‘hopeful’ fixing all by myself, thinking that maybe I have a manly side of me who could destroy my door knob the way incredible hulk does.

So here goes my timid side, I chose the ‘hopeful’ fixing all by myself…again. And just like what I’ve expected, it didn’t work.

nothing5

Almost an hour has passed and I’m still stuck inside and worse, I’m already hungry. I still haven’t taken my lunch and my stomach is already shouting like crazy. So, I have no other choice but to call my land lady.

Minutes later, she came to help me out but since she cannot do it alone, she asked the other lodgers from the other floor to help me open my room.

Luckily, two guys were here and they helped us open my door. But in my astonishment, the fixing that I’ve tried to do for almost an hour was only solved by them in just one click. It could either be they’re experts on this or just plainly powerful like hulk. Thank God they’re here or I could have been stuck here for hours. That was indeed a great relief for me.

So that’s it. I’m officially free. And that simple yet crazy event reminded me of who I was then.

***

Just like me being stuck inside the room, helpless in all aspects and nowhere to go, my old self is also a captive; simply helpless. In fact, that’s how our lives were when we’re still not in Christ and certified enemies of His Kingdom.

We were all imprisoned in our sinfulness, indeed helpless in all aspects and our lives only revolve around this sinful world and there were nowhere else for us to go except hell. Tragic as it seems but that’s the reality of the life lived by the unredeemed.

Our pride sometimes pushes us to think we could fix and save ourselves. Just like what I did earlier. Even though I know I’m helpless, I still opted to do it on my own.

“Let us watch against pride in every shape – pride of intellect, pride of wealth, pride of our own goodness. Nothing is so likely to keep a person out of heaven, and prevent them from seeing Christ, as pride. So long as we think we are something we shall never be saved. Let us pray for and cultivate humility; let us seek to know ourselves correctly, and to find out our place in the sight of a holy God.” -J.C. RYLE

Our old selves too, opt to think our good works can save us from the pit of despair and sinfulness, but without knowing the true Gospel and believing that we are only saved by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ and good works is not the cause but the effect of our salvation (Ephesians 2:8-10), we can still go on living as if some recipe of good works can save us from the eternal damnation.

We might keep on doing the ‘hopeful’ fixing but it will only make the situation worse. And just like how much I wanted to take my lunch while fixing my door knob, our sinfulness and pride will drive us into so much hunger deep inside because any form of morality apart from Christ will not fill ourselves the way Christ fill the lives of the redeemed. He is the Bread of life and in Him no one will get thirsty anymore.

 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty…”- John 6:35

But unlike how I then opted to ask for a help, the unredeemed cannot call for help unless God convicts Him to do so. No dead person can cry out for help. And when God convicts, He starts from showing us that we cannot help ourselves and that any form of manly fixing will not help in making us free and alive.

He will convict us that the saving faith we need can only be found in Him. He enables us to see the wall of pride in our lives and the raging war of sin in our flesh. He then makes it possible for us to be able to cry out for help and ask for forgiveness of our sins. And that’s the time He will show you the greatest miracle you will ever experience in your life: your redemption.

Through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ at the Cross, His people are now free. And we have now with us the Holy Spirit that teaches us to walk in the will of God in our lives. He also helps us in fixing our eyes on Jesus.

Sometimes the only barrier we have against knowing the possibility of our salvation is our pride that says we can fix ourselves. It’s actually our pride that shouts and says ‘You also have to help yourself so that God will also help you’.

But in reality, the only saving faith available for the human race is the sole work of God through the sacrifice of Jesus Christ and there is nothing that our hands can ever do to save ourselves from God’s judgment.

This Jesus is the stone that was rejected by you, the builders, which has become the cornerstone.  And there is salvation in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved. -Acts 4:11-12

And if you are already truly convicted that you are helpless and only God can save you, cry out to God for help. Humbly ask for forgiveness and He will forgive you from all of your transgressions.

And since Jesus Christ is your Savior, He should also be your Lord. Because both realities are not mutually exclusive.

Ask and you will receive. Repent and Believe.

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. -Matthew 7:7-8

Don’t let your pride lead you astray.

 

God bless you, readers.

All glory belongs to God alone.

 

In Christ,

KrizSummer

 

There’s nothing that my hands can do to save my guilty soul
I cannot cleanse my filthy stains or make my spirit whole
For nothing but the blood of Christ  can all my sins erase
I dare not claim my righteousness but hide within His grace
‘Tis Christ who saved me from the depths, God’s pardon I’ve received
I’m washed within His precious blood
My heart is sprinkled clean.

– Nothing That My Hands Can Do by Sovereign Grace Music

PS: I’ve just launched a new page here in my blog where I get to feature my unforgettable outdoor shots. If you have some time, you can visit it here. Thank you. 🙂

6 Comments Add yours

  1. paulfg says:

    What a gorgeous insight. Such a simple thing. I usually end of so irritated I miss any learning! You have taught. And I so glad you did! Thank you.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Thank you. Glory to God alone. God bless you Paul. 🙂

  2. Alma Roa says:

    Thank you! We need to remember that constantly!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      You’re welcome. 🙂 And thank you too for reading this. God bless you.

  3. hitman5184 says:

    I don’t think words can possibly do justice to how good and true this is, and it is a great illustration that I hope many people ready and take to heart. Great post, and may you be blessed! (your door knob as well)

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Thank you. 🙂 Glory to God alone for this. God bless you always.

Share Your Thoughts

