Fleeting Friendships

Do you still remember your first friend in Kinder? Or that kid whom you shared your sandwich with? How about your friends in Grade School? Can you still remember the laughter you shared and the childish fights you had?

Maybe some of you don’t. In fact for my part, I don’t remember all of them anymore. I want to, but as years pass, their memories are as vague as the distance of Neptune from the Sun. And that’s something that I cannot control anymore.

But how about High School? Those friends we shared a table with at the canteen, those friends who sat next to you on your History class? Those friends who cried with you during your High School graduation? For sure, you still have a glimpse of those memories. You can still smile in those remarkable events you had before.

How about your College friends where your emotional attachment is greater? You have the same course, wanted the same job, shared lots of coffee and talked about many things in life. Surely those people are the ones you treasure the most. You love the same things, and probably, they are most likely the people you think will be your friends for the rest of your life.

Friends

But let me ask you this question; Are they all still in your life today? Do you still hang out like you always did before? Sadly, not all of them can stay with you for the rest of your life. Although you might have landed on the same job, but as you grow older, your priorities in life will change, and you will only have less time to hang out with them.

That fact used to hurt me. I can’t stand before the thought of how some people can leave their friends behind and let all things become just memories. I don’t like it when they forget to talk to me, hang out with me and plan a vacation with me. I hate it when people change and go on with their lives as if there was never a bond that occurred.

But as I grow mature, I realize that I can’t have them all in my life. Not everyone that I come across will manage to stay in my life forever. There are people that are meant to live a life away from me. There are people that should bid goodbye to me because they have some other things to do in life. There are people that should go on without me because their worlds simply don’t revolve around me.

Imagine yourself walking at the beach, picking every precious stones you can see. Those stones represent your friends. As time goes by, the number of stones you have multiplied. But still, you’ve managed to hide some in your pocket while some inside your shirt, but as you continue walking, it gets more difficult for you to go on having all of those stones with you. But you have no other choice but to let some stones go so that you can move on.

There is so much emotional baggage in the feeling of people forgetting you. We tend to emotionally hurt ourselves when the people we value the most doesn’t value us that much. It seems like it was easier for them to let go of us but it was hard for us because they mean so much to us.

But just like the excess stones you have while walking at the beach, you have to let go of them for you to be able to move on. Always remember that you cannot have everything in life. You have to learn to let go of something or someone so that you will be able to grow.

Yes, it hurts when things change and those changes push your friends to leave. But you cannot hold everybody in your hands and act as if you cannot live without them.

Those circumstances should also make you realize the value of the people that never left you even when others choose to leave. They might have only been a few of them left, but at least, they’re all true and they are all willing to be with you for a very long time.

And most of all, remember that even if things will change and people will change there is Someone who will never change. He is a Friend to those who follow Him, and that Someone is Jesus Christ.

We sometimes feel upset on how things change around us and how friends become only a sweet but sad memory left in our minds, but be comforted that Jesus Christ is the most valuable Friend you will ever have.

People around us may fail to see our worth, but remember what Christ has done for you on the cross. He laid down His life for His friends. 

You may get depress over friends that betrayed you, but remember that even Christ was deserted by His friends during the times that He was about to be crucified. But even in the times of betrayal and confusion, Jesus Christ never did change His mind on giving His life to the people who cursed Him and laughed at Him. He was still willing to lay down His life for His friends. His love for us was never under human conditions. It was purely love, purely grace –something we can never fathom at all and something we do not deserve.

People may leave us and push us to let them go, but remember that even when you were still a sinner, Someone never let you go. Someone hold unto the hope of you coming to life even if He needs to die just for you to have that.

Even if you were lost, helpless and your own self cannot help you, there was someone who pursued you, searched for you and willing to save you.

It’s time to let go and forgive the people who have hurt us, forgotten us and left us. Stop hurting yourself by thinking that no one will ever love you.

Remember that even if everything is messed up in your life right now and your friends left you when you need them the most, remember that there is a Friend who loves you and cares for you when no one did.

Nothing is more valuable than Him. Just look at the cross and what He did and be filled in awe for His love for you. That is something that no one from the friends who left you will ever do for you.

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. You are My friends if you do what I command you. No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you. -John 15:13-15

God bless you, readers.

All glory belongs to God alone.

 

In Christ,

KrizSummer

3 Comments Add yours

  1. rolerrol says:

    Hi Kriz
    This is probably one of the hardest lessons to learn. Friends come and friends go. I have been confused at times as to why God let them leave. Was it my fault? What did I do wrong? Why God? I am still to get an answer but you are right. We have a friend in Jesus. He will never leave us!

    I just need to come to grips with the fact that some friends are not meant to stay for good. God will bring people into my life for a season. Great post my friend!!! 🙂
    Rolain

    1. KrizSummer says:

      I agree with you, Rolain. I sometimes ask those question to myself. But there are really some who are not meant to stay for good and we have to accept it even if it hurts, 🙂 Thank you my friend. 🙂 Glory to God alone.

      1. rolerrol says:

        amen Kriz…….. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

