A Letter to Every Complaining Heart

Dear Readers,

Last Monday, I went to a far-flung community to prepare for our next week’s Summer Youth Camp. Hours before my departure, I never thought that the people from that place will touch my life in a way I’ve never expected.

A week before, I’ve been a little ungrateful to God. I had so many complaints to Him. From my booked flight to my hometown down to every details in my life. I got short-tempered from time to time, and although how much I prayed that God will help me get through that moments, it still seems like everyday is another battle and every step I take in this life is getting harder and harder.

That was all that is in my mind…not until I went to that place that is just an hour-and-a-half-trip from my hometown.

The bus ride going there was good. Although I expected that we still need to get a motorcycle ride to that community, what I didn’t expect is, we, all four of the young people from our church, will ride the same single motorcycle at the same time plus the driver! That makes us five being on that motorcycle for a 10-kilometer-trip. Believe me, it’s possible. But I guess my words are not enough to tell you all how amazed and thrilled I was at the same time.

That motorcycle ride didn’t really got me angry. In fact, it made me feel I’m adventurous. But as we were riding that motorcycle, some thoughts flooded my mind:

I always complain about the odor of our car’s air freshener, but never even think that many are experiencing what I was experiencing that time. That moment didn’t drove me to puff up with pride. It made me realize that we are all the same. We may drive different vehicles, but that should not drive us to think of ourselves to be higher than anybody else.

When we arrived there, I was so amazed how fresh the air is plus you don’t get that noise we always hear on big cities. Yes, I’ve been into many places, but the peace that place welcomed me was something that never happened in my life before. All you can hear are birds and all the insects. It was indeed a little paradise.

But what amazes me so much, is the person who welcomed us in his house for an overnight stay. He is the guitarist of the church we were visiting. I don’t exactly know his age, but I guess he is already at his late 30s or maybe 40s. He lives alone, too. But what surprises me is that although that is how much self-reliant he is, he is actually blind.

He has eye complications that look like it’s congenital. He doesn’t have his left eye, and his right eye can see but it’s blurry. The other two young people who’s with me told me his story, and I was so amazed how God has been faithful to him despite of his condition.

Imagine the days he spent alone. Nights where he has to struggle. And years of living alone. Thank God his neighbors love him. They visit him from time to time and all his church mates help him in paying his bills and sometimes give him groceries.

But beyond that, he has to do everything in the house alone. From sweeping and shining the floor, to washing the dishes, and even cooking for himself only using firewood.

In cities, we rely on electric stoves and burners, but there, they have to do it the ancient way. Yet they never do it complaining to God why they have to live like that. 

We also met a fifteen-year-old boy who helped us in cleaning the church. He told us it will be his first time to join. Although he seldom talks and loves to listen more, I know how much happy he is to see us. He find it difficult to communicate with us because he speaks another dialect. Fortunately, I know their dialect a little bit since my father uses it sometimes.

Their life there is the simplest life I’ve ever witness. Only few families have TVs. They don’t live their life around social media and all the latest gadgets in the world. That place made me realize how to value time without spending it on TV shows and all the latest buzz in the modern world.

They might have been living a life that looks like it has been frozen for decades, but at least they know how to be satisfied with what they have.

My stay there really humbled me down. 

When we dine at a restaurant but been given a very inconvenient atmosphere, we immediately complain without being grateful that we can afford to eat there.

When we surf the internet, then encounter some interruptions on our connection, we complain easily without even thinking that real life doesn’t depend on how much updated we are on our social media accounts.

We complain we don’t have the latest gadgets without knowing it’s actually a waste of time to spend too much on something if we can actually use that to help other people.

bm1a

We complain about every road block we encounter or the heavy traffic during rush hours without realizing that we are fortunate enough to have our own cars plus we have all we need in our homes. Not to mention, we don’t need to suffer traveling on a bumpy road.

We complain we don’t have a fair complexion, latest laser treatment and all the vanity works just to make ourselves look good without being so grateful that you are not a disabled person or someone suffering from a congenital disease.

We complain how less money we have without knowing that money can never buy us a grateful heart.

It’s just simply saying that we complain about everything without knowing we are more fortunate than somebody out there.

Why not become grateful and use what you have to help others rather than be puffed-up with pride with what you have?

That person who welcomed us in his house may have been blind physically, but at least he is not blind spiritually. 

That young boy who welcomed us in their church may haven’t been able to speak our dialect fluently, but at least his life radiates that he belongs to God’s family without even saying a single word about it.

They may have less of what this world’s definition of a prosperous life, but at least they have all the riches through Christ.

Just like what our Pastor said last Sunday; Spiritual Blessings are actually always abundant for every Christian, but why is it that when we talk about blessings, some think it only comes in one form, and it is through money without knowing that it is not the true spiritual blessings we should be thinking of?

You cannot measure Spiritual Blessings with the amount of money you have or how comfortable your life is because the life of the people I’ve met a day ago doesn’t have that. 

Just because you are not wealthy in this world, that doesn’t mean you are not already blessed by God. And just because we are too wealthy, that doesn’t mean you are truly blessed spiritually. Christ didn’t even show us that earthly wealth matters in His Kingdom.

Your heart is what truly that matters. Because from it springs what you will be truly desiring in this life you have. 

Do you desire God or the wealth of this world?

Stop building a complaining heart.

Just the fact that you do exist is something that you should be thankful for.

***

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through Him to God the Father. ~Colossians 3:15-17

 

Live a life that show you are thankful of what you have. 🙂

God bless you.

 

In Christ,

KrizSummer 

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. rolerrol says:

    Hey Kriz.
    Such an awesome post from you here. I was so touched when you spoke about the blind man and the boy. You are so right…..prosperity and wealth are not just defined in having money and gadgets and so on. Prosperity and wealth is so much broader and I think you have explained what it really is perfectly. We just need to look at the next person to see how blessed we really are. I love this post Kriz.
    Thanks for sharing it. 🙂

    Rolain

    1. KrizSummer says:

      You’re welcome, Rolain. 🙂 God bless you. ^_^

  2. So true! Thank you so much for sharing this.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      You’re welcome, proverbs31teen. 🙂 God bless you. ^_^

  3. Jennifer says:

    This was a wonderful post! SO so so true and very inspiring! Thank you for sharing this. God bless! You have made me realize, and so has the Lord, how precious our lives are and how good our God is! 🙂

    Jennifer~

    1. KrizSummer says:

      You’re welcome, Jen! God bless you too.

  4. "light and salt" says:

    Great post, Kris 🙂

    Steve 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

