Where Should I Settle Down?

For my whole life I’ve been moving from another place to the next.Β There was even a time where I counted the houses I’ve stayed for the last 22 years, and just last month, I made it to my 18th move! Wohoo. I can hear the fireworks and cheers of people for that! I was able to beat my own record! πŸ™‚

But kidding aside, it’s really hard to always have myself moving…moving and moving. Traveling from another place to the next with your whole house things with you is not a joke. Good for some they always have what they call a place where all the good memories of their childhood and teenage days are there. But for me, every move means another ‘letting go’ ceremony is needed. There are simply things that I can’t take with me on my next move.

But how did I end up with this kind of life? I guess that takes a whole lot of explanation but I’ll try to summarize it. My parent’s job requires constant moving. I guess. My dad is not an army nor a policeman, but both of them are Government Employees, and when their Office Head requests them to move to another place, they have no other choice but to do it. When my parents got older, the moving also stopped. Only for my family but not for me because when I reached High School, I already started to live away from our home just to have a better education.

The problem, for me, has never been when to settle down or whom am I going to settle down with. That’s too early for me to say.Β The kind of ‘settling down’ I’m trying to have is more of a literal one than something about ‘getting married’.

My life has been more of moving than living. And that story goes on even until I reached this age. My life has still no room for a permanent address. It seems like the search for the best place for me to live is still on, and I don’t even know what are my choices.

settle down

I’ve been into the most dramatic days of my life last year, and traveling was my means of letting go of the stress. I was able to visit new places here in our country, and I already marked some as my potential place to live. For some it seems funny, but I’m actually serious about it. πŸ™‚

At a youngΒ age, I already know the need of finding a permanent place to live because I know how it feels to always live your life moving. It takes the fun out of me, and adjusting is always been a must. It seems like I don’t have an image of myself getting old on the same place. And worse, when you’ve lived all your life moving, the feeling of dissatisfaction is always there in your heart. You always thirst for a new place, new people and a new culture to dive in.

I’ve been into the coldest parts of our country; even been to the best beaches, huge mountains, big cities and small towns. But it seems nothing has ever fit the image of my dream place to live. I always find something not-so-good in every place. I can always find something that makes a place not fit for an image of my dream place.

In moving, you always have to consider many things; from the local church you’ll join down to the culture you’re going to have for the next years of your life. Am I going to fit in? Am I going to love my life there? Or will it only push me to another move?

But just the other night while driving our way to my Uncle’s house with the car windows open, some realizations came to me while enjoying the views from where I am. I’ve realized something about this obsession I have for my dream place to live.

I’ve realized that I’ve been feeling this feeling of dissatisfaction in this world because nothing from here truly compares to my true home. And my home is not of this world. My true citizenship is in heaven. πŸ™‚

Maybe by now some of you would say, ‘That’s ridiculous! Why do you compare Heaven with your plans of finding a place where you can settle down? C’mon. You can’t compare them!’

Well, for some it’s incomparable. But for me it truly makes sense. What if I’ll find that dream place to live here on earth and then I’ll be so much in love with it? What if that love drives me to love the pleasures that the place gives and the luxury it offers me, whether it is a city or a small town? What now if I have everything that I need from that place, yet lose my soul? It truly doesn’t make sense.

We always do find fault in the place we live. It could either be the high crime rate or economic problems. We always complain about the services around our homes. And as time goes by, the satisfaction rate is getting lower. The circumstances then push us to move and find another place to live.

But what if you’ll be like me, who got tired of moving? Can you think of a perfect place then where you can move in? Can you think of that place where everything you need is there –from fresh air down to a great job? That will surely take time for you to find that kind of place, and I hope when you already found that place, you will not forget that anything in that place will not last long. Every luxury it provides will someday fade, and when that time comes, you should have the deepest joys of leaving all behind and be on the place where the only true joy will be found, and it is only in the place where God dwells and where the all the saints will be there to worship Him for all eternity.

Let’s not get lured by what this world can offer. Let’s not live exploiting every resources while raising the banner of a godless life. Eternal life for the saints should start here, and we should ought to live a godly life while waiting for the end to come. Yes, we only live once, but are you living that life to please the Lord or only to please yourself?

I may be closing this post with no sure answer to where I will someday settle down, but one thing is sure for me now: It’s not the comfort of the place where I should settle down that matters. It’s how I live my life there even if everything in that place doesn’t go well with what I expect.

It’s how I glorify God in my life that matters and not what the comfort I get from this world.

Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.Β 1 John 2:15

God bless you, readers!

Glory to God alone. πŸ™‚

 

From a woman who just had her 18th move,

KrizSummer πŸ™‚

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. rolerrol says:

    Great post Kriz! I can’t believe you have moved 18 times!!! That is truly unbelievable. How did you cope?? It would be hard for me I admit. The last points in your post really hit home for me. It is all about giving God the glory where you are. I hope you do find a place to settle down though… πŸ™‚

    Rolain

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Haha! Me too, I can’t believe it. If you were in my case, you cannot feel you’ve moved that much not until you’ve counted it. πŸ™‚ I’ve adjusted many times. There was even a time that I’ve spoken a sentence with mixed dialects. Haha. I was so confused that time what dialect I should use. Haha!

      Amen! It’s all for His glory. πŸ™‚

      Thanks! I’m also hoping the same thing. I don’t know when, but I’m always praying for it. πŸ™‚

      God bless you, Rolain.

  2. rolerrol says:

    Oh, So moved around your country. Never abroad??
    When I was younger our family never moved much but when I grew up the moving increased but around 3 to 4 times. And I thought that was difficult…..! sheez
    God has a plan for everything. And your moving so many times is for a purpose…..

    God bless

    Rolain

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Yes. Only on our country. Never abroad. πŸ™‚ But our country has a very diverse culture. Every region is different from the other. I’ve also experienced to live in a Muslim area, and I did so many adjustments with my stay there. From food down to how I dress. πŸ™‚

      Amen. πŸ™‚ Exactly. God bless you, too.

      1. rolerrol says:

        I can only imagine……! It’s cool that your country is so diverse! How was it living in a Muslim community??? Especially being a Christian?? That must of been an experience.

      2. KrizSummer says:

        It was actually great. πŸ™‚ I even had many friends from that place. And I’ve learned many things from my stay there.

  3. Hello, Kriz! This is good! We are not meant to be comfortable here on earth because this isn’t our final destination. I wish I could remember the words of C.S. Lewis that said something to the effect of how if we find ourselves dissatisfied with the thing we desire when we finally get it means that it wasn’t meant to satisfy us. I’m probably really butchering what Lewis said. haha! My memory! If I can find the book that has that quote I can quote it right. If I remember right, he said something like that. Great post! Thanks for the reminder!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hi. πŸ™‚ Thanks. Is it his book ‘Mere Christianity?’ That’s one of his famous books. And he is one of the best Christian writers. πŸ™‚ Just let me know if you already have that quote. I’d love to know what it says. πŸ™‚ God bless you. πŸ™‚

      1. I’ve read that quote many times in many different books. I’ve read Mere Christianity years ago. I have the book and was just looking through it to see if I could find the quote. It could be in there, I just don’t see it. I’ll let you know if I stumble upon it! πŸ™‚

      2. KrizSummer says:

        Great. πŸ™‚ Thanks! God bless you. πŸ™‚

      3. I found one similar to what I was thinking but not exactly the quote from my original thought. He says, “What does not satisfy when we find it was not the thing we were desiring.” I read that quote from the book, Choose Joy by Kay Warren. Great book!

      4. KrizSummer says:

        Wow. Thanks for sharing that quote. I love it. God bless you. πŸ™‚

      5. You’re welcome!! πŸ™‚ Blessings!

  4. rolerrol says:

    I am glad to hear that…So that was a long way of saying your post was great!! hahaha….

    Have a blast of a weekend Kriz…!
    πŸ™‚

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hahaha! πŸ™‚ You too. Have a nice Nice Weekend, Rolain. God bless. πŸ™‚

  5. My dear Kriz
    This was a lovely thought πŸ™‚ I really love you closing part. That’s very true..no matter where we will settle down but the matters is how we live our life. Thank you for this great post. God bless you abundantly.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello Karina. πŸ™‚ Thank you. ^_^ God bless you. πŸ™‚

  6. "light and salt" says:

    Oh how I can relate! Kris, I moved about 16 million times from age 20 to 30! I was a “dream weaver” and thought satisfaction could be found “out there” somewhere. It took me that long to realize that much of our happiness comes from within…

    Good luck to you in your travels, my dear!

    Steve πŸ™‚

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Thank you for having time reading this, Steve. πŸ™‚ God bless you always.

      1. "light and salt" says:

        And may He guide your young heart as you read and study more about His love for you and all people!

        Have a super day, Kris πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Steve

Share Your Thoughts

