Men Are Not Stupid

It’s past midnight here in our country, and I still can’t sleep. This has been my life for the past weeks. Maybe, I’ll get used to this.

I was reading some random blogs earlier. Some of them I just passed by, some of them I really did like, but some left me thoughts of how they hated men.ย That’s sad. Really sad. If only I can give them all a hug, and tell them that not all of them are bad, I will. ๐Ÿ™‚

Men are not stupid. Maybe not all of them.

I had a memorable conversation before with my Dad when I was on my early teen years. I dropped my phone accidentally, and he’s the one who got it. The screensaver popped up and it shocked him what was stated in it.

It says, “Guys are Stupid”. All this time he believed his daughter is a nice girly girl Christian. And he really did talk to me after that and I can summarize it with this: “Not all men are stupid…and please, don’t use the word ‘stupid’.”

Honestly, I don’t know what got into me that time that I had that as my screensaver. I guess I had no other new screensaver that time or maybe I liked the graphics. I don’t know.

A year later after that, I experienced numerous bullying and most of them are from boys. At first I thought my screensaver before was right. But my dad’s words still linger. “Not all men..not all.” So, I held on to that hope. It’s high school. It won’t be too long. ๐Ÿ™‚

Then, I went to college, pursued my love for Biology, and met many many guys, and kept 10 of them as my closest friends.ย Being a student before of a course that has many outdoor experiences, it’s quite common for you to have guy friends as your close friends.ย It wasn’t a ‘planned’ friendship. It’s more of an unexpected friendship.

Those 10 guys taught me that, what my Dad said years ago is true.

My guy friends are the best guys I’ve met next to my Dad and my only Brother. They showed me that I don’t have anything to fear about men. They taught me that guys can be anything. They have struggles, too. And just like other people, they have weaknesses.

There were many times before in college that I go home late after doing some college papers with my group mates. Those were the times my guy friends proved to me that guys can be your bodyguards, too. They will bring you safe to your home and tell you some corny jokes along the way. They’re heroes. They get you home safe even if that means they have to walk their way to their homes alone.ย 

Men can be good cooks, too. Some of my guy friends love to cook. And we, their girl friends (not girlfriends) were treated as princesses.

Men can get emotional in the middle of a movie, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ There were many times before that I’ve seen them got teary-eyed over a movie. Priceless moments because I thought before that most of them are kind of a ‘hardcore’.

Men doesn’t care, actually, if you don’t have a make-up on. They like it more if you go to school with less make-up. They love the natural look. ๐Ÿ™‚

Men do listen…a lot. My guy friends are good listeners. We can talk to them about a family problem, messed up grades, a confused heart…Anything. ๐Ÿ™‚

When guys get angry over women, there are only few chances that they blow up right then and there. They actually have fewer chance to talk back at a nagging girl. They sometimes just punch the walls to get that anger out. That’s why it’s really more helpful if girls will talk less when a guy gets angry โ€”you know, to have less damages around. ๐Ÿ™‚

Men are good in analyzing things. They love critical thinking. They love it when they are challenged to think more. My guy friends were my good tutors for Math, Physics and Genetics before. Amazing.ย ๐Ÿ™‚

Men are patient in courting. I have a friend who courted a girl for 5 years. Sadly, that girl didn’t value his heart. She dumped him after years of patience and love. If only we knew that’s how it will end, we could have warned him every minute of his life.

But one thing that sometimes women don’t appreciate is that, Men do fall in love deeply. I had a friend who confessed his feelings towards a girl in front of us with tears in his eyes while telling everything. Me, as his friend and knows some things about him, it was a bit awkward that I even almost laugh at what I saw. But I realized after that, that men can sometimes break down when they feel they’ve kept so much in their heart for a long time. They also have stories to be told, and they need some ears to listen to those stories.

Two years after college, most of my guy friends are already in a relationship. Some are on their way of hearing an “I love you, too” from someone they are courting for quite some time, but some are still single.

They may have differ in many things, but there’s a common thing about them: they are not stupid.

Maybe you’ll say by now that I’m blessed to have been surrounded with those kinds of guys, but trust me, they’re not perfect. Some of them go to school late. Some of them do their projects hours before the deadline. Some of them used to have vices. Some of them have academic and family problems. And some of them have failed relationship with women. Those things can happen to anybody. Just because it happened to men, that doesn’t already mean they’re totally stupid.

When you count their mistakes more, you’ll have tendencies to conclude they’re stupid. But when you’ll try to appreciate every effort they do, you’ll see it casts away all the hatred you have in your heart.

Maybe some of them you see as abusive in their power of being men, but I tell you, that doesn’t give you the right to attribute stupidity to all of them.

Just like women, men do mess up, too. But try to understand them. They have issues to be heard and a soul to be consoled. Don’t let your emotion fill you with bad thoughts about them. Believe me, listening works.

It has never been an accident that God molded Adam from soil and Eve from the ribs of Adam. Biblically speaking, men are leaders and women have roles that differ from them. Let’s respect the responsibility given to them.ย 

But what if men are already abusive to their powers? Confront them. Rebuke them in a loving way. I’ve done that many times with my friends and it turned okay.

Some guys from your past might have broken your heart to pieces in the most unimaginable way, but have hope. Somewhere out there, there are nice men.

All you have to do first is be satisfied of the love given to you by God on that time. The mercy that God gives during your heartbreak. The grace He gives every day. Think about that kind of love โ€”that love that never gave up on you even though you’ve neglect it for so many times because you’re so focused on getting that love from someone who never really loved you back. Christ’s love must be more than enough for you because when you already have Him, you’re more than complete and satisfied.

It might not always be a happy ending to every love stories out there, but don’t transform yourself to a man-hater type of woman. There’s more to life than to be consumed of the love you wanted but not what you really needed.

Jesus Christ is there. He cleans the sinners, loves them and changes them to become saints. Believe me, there’s no more greater love than that.ย A God who loves conquers all the heartbreaks you had. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have hope.

God bless you, reader.

All Glory belongs to God.

Your Sister in Christ,

KrizSummer

PS. And remember, Don’t use the word ‘Stupid’ again. ๐Ÿ™‚

****

ย ย Greater love has no one than this,ย that someone lay down His life for His friends.

~John 15:13

7 Comments Add yours

  1. oneintercessor says:

    So many married women suffer with a husband they have helped make in to a poor leader, so they then look down on them. Helping a man become a godly leader as he is supposed to takes a wise, patient, wife. We don’t know everything about submission, we grow in to it, likewise, men need that opportunity. Outside of marriage, young girls and women can do a LOT to encourage males to succeed. It is from Satan that our culture demeans men and has feminized the educational realm. God has gifted men differently from women, yet in our ‘everyone is equal’ culture, some group has to get left behind or put down. We female Christians need to be extra vigilant to counteract the culture and bless our guys. My young son’s first experience with this ‘girls are better’ attitude came from a public school girl down the street. She has a younger brother, yet flaunted her opinion that ‘girls rule and boys drool’. I took it very seriously and she hasn’t been in our house since. The making of a man takes determination, same as the making of a real woman.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Amen! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really agree with this. I even wrote a post about this; that women desire to rule over men but it’s not biblical. I really don’t like it. Just because men sometimes commit mistakes, that doesn’t mean we have to look down on them. Women has tendencies to expect perfection when the reality is it doesn’t exist in the world. Same to how they treat men. Some wanted them to be as perfect as the prince charming in fairytales but the real world is not a fairytale. ๐Ÿ™‚ I always look up to men’s authority and I still believe in them. Men are the leaders, and we should respect that. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, ma’am. I’ve learn something again. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you.

      1. oneintercessor says:

        God bless, you, too. I have enjoyed corresponding with you via our blogs :). Have a nice weekend! Ann

  2. rolerrol says:

    Thank you for guarding our honour as men. There are great guys out there and we need to be given a chance. At times we do stupid things but that doesn’t make us stupid. As far as I am concerned everyone makes mistakes. Men and women. The question to ask though is, are you willing to look past the mistake! So once again, thank you….

    Rolain

    1. KrizSummer says:

      You’re welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glory to God alone. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re right. We do all make mistakes. We just need to be more understanding. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you.

  3. I don’t wanna talk to much. .there was great long comments above.i just wanna say that this is a great thought about men.i really enjoyed reading your post. Many love and blessings to you.

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello Karina. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much. Glory to God alone. ๐Ÿ™‚ God bless you. Thank you again. ๐Ÿ™‚

Share Your Thoughts

