Writing Down What I Believe: Confessions of A Christian Biologist

For the past days I’ve been quite busy reading books written by Arthur Pink for our Church’s Youth Discipleship. It was only last night that I was able to visit my blog and even my social media accounts. 🙂

Then, I came across a video on Bill Nye and Ken Ham’s Debate. It really got my attention. I am a Biology Graduate, and if there is a debate that will get my attention, it will be their debate. 🙂 To make all things clear, I’m a Biologist by virtue of Education, and not because of an exam I passed. Our country doesn’t have a licensure exam for that. So, technically, for other countries I’m just a mere Biology Graduate, but by virtue of Education; I am a Biologist. 🙂

Listening to that debate last night drove me to the moments in my life where I had my worst times in juggling both Evolution and my belief in God. Having a degree in Biology, you will always come across Evolution whether you like it or not. You have grades to maintain and a faith to be strengthened. I cannot compromise even one of them. It will really affect my life.

There was something about my college course that I just can’t give up. Just because it’s Science, it doesn’t directly say that every facts on it are against God. In fact, when you study Science with the light of the Scripture, you will respect God more. You will be amazed more of who He is. It’s just a matter of how much you acknowledge His existence. It’s just a matter of how you analyze the evidences given to you. If you don’t acknowledge God even from the beginning, your view of it will be different. It will be shallow and pointless if you erase the fact of God’s existence.

Good for some, that debate was just hours in their life. But for me, that has been my life. Reconciling facts about Science and God has been the cry of my heart. There were many times before that I hope of reading a Science book that acknowledges God, but I never encountered one. There must be something wrong. Why do people make God non-existent when it comes to Science? Just because of Evolution? You can be a Biologist without believing Evolution. I have professors back in college who are Christians and they never hid from us their belief especially when Science facts make you doubt of God’s existence.

Let no man deceive himself. If any man among you thinks that he is wise in this age, he must become foolish, so that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness before God. For it is written, “He is the one who catches the wise in their craftiness”; and again, “The Lord knows the reasonings of the wise, that they are useless.” ~ 1 Corinthians 3:18-20

I remember a time during college when I stopped for a while in reading Evolution notes in the middle of the night just to write down in my journal notebook the thoughts that has been running in my mind for months. I cannot stand the fact of erasing God. It’s like omitting my history. It’s like not acknowledging the Creator when you know so well in your heart that you are just a mere creature He has made.

I took a pen 2 in the morning and wrote down the points I was trying to reconcile in my head. I ended up concluding my unbelief in Evolution even if I was reading notes on Evolution moments before that.

Animals have tendencies to adapt for them to survive. But pushing it to the point of believing we all came from coacervates then became a primordial form of an animal is impossible. Who said all creature came from the same primordial form? Humans. And since the standard was laid by merely human beings; it’s already a fact that should convince us to doubt if it’s all true.  Science books have been hijacked by those people who try to make God as someone that has only been invented by humans. Who said that He doesn’t exist? Humans again.

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, and their ways are vile; there is no one who does good. God looks down from heaven on all mankind to see if there are any who understand, any who seek God. Everyone has turned away, all have become corrupt; there is no one who does good, not even one. Do all these evildoers know nothing? They devour my people as though eating bread; they never call on God. ~Psalms 53:1-4

That fact has never been a secret in the Bible. It has revealed that there will be many people who will ignore God. But all of them are considered fools. 

There was even a time that I memorized the Phylogenetic Tree for our exam and when I was about to write down what I’ve memorized, I cannot stop thinking of how foolish human beings can be. We have tendencies of thinking of ourselves as someone higher than any other creatures, but when you ask most of them where they came from, they will say they came from apes that came from a primordial form who happens to originate from coarcervates that came from the Big Bang. I find it foolish. Who said we came from that? Humans again because many people want to erase God from their minds and worse in every Science Book. When people try to erase God from their mind, they have tendencies to become futile. It seems like they are only living for the sake of existing.

But when you know that God exists and you exist for His glory, you know you have a worth. You don’t worry of what happens to you after you die. You see all the hardships you went through as something meaningful and you know it all works together for good for those who love God, and one of the ways to show you love Him is through acknowledging His existence.

For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. For it is written, “I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and the discernment of the discerning I will thwart.” Where is the one who is wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the debater of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of the world? For since, in the wisdom of God, the world did not know God through wisdom, it pleased God through the folly of what we preach to save those who believe. ~ 1 Corinthians 1:18-21

About the age of the Earth? Who said the earth has been billions of years? Humans again. Why is it so hard for people to accept the six days of creation? To begin with, that’s not just an evidence to be debated. That’s a truth that we should accept. They say, rocks, trees, and some piles of ice give us the facts that it’s an old earth; but who said that’s how you measure the age of the Earth? Humans again. We really do have tendencies to put the authority on ourselves and make conclusions in light of what our futile minds want to know, but our minds should not be trusted. Since the Fall of Man, there has been no good thing that comes out from us. Even the righteousness we show other people are filthy rags in God’s eyes (Isaiah 64:6).

About the great flood? What then if Marsupials can only be seen in the continent of Australia? That doesn’t contradict God’s existence and the existence of the great flood, and it does not even directly support Evolution. God can do the impossible. He can do things that our minds cannot even imagine. Accept that fact. We are only humans, and God will always be God.

Some might say that I’ve wasted my four years in College for nothing. For them who doesn’t believe in God, that was nothing, but when you know in your heart He exists, and you have lots of evidences to prove His existence, you will learn that Science itself hasn’t contradicted the existence of God. It’s the people who believe that God doesn’t exist made Science look that it contradicts the existence of God.

It will always be an unending debate for ungrateful people will always exist. I salute Ken Ham for standing for the truth. I know why he pushes those facts so much because it is the truth, and when you know the truth, you cannot stop talking about it because you want others to know the truth, too.

I hope someday those who still doubt will come to know the truth before it’s too late. We all know so well that God exists, but some will try to ignore Him. But one thing is for sure; God will really reveal Himself to our dead hearts if He wants to. He will write in our hearts His laws; and that’s what happened to me even though how much this world has poisoned my mind before. And the Lord alone will be praised for that. 🙂

Whoever wins in the mind of every one who watched the debate, one thing is for sure; God knows who tells the truth and it’s all that matters. Our verdicts are useless. He will always be God even if someone will oppose it. 🙂

For what can be known about God is plain to them, because God has shown it to them. For His invisible attributes, namely, His eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse. For although they knew God, they did not honor Him as God or give thanks to Him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. Claiming to be wise, they became fools. ~Romans 1:19-23

Soli Deo Gloria. 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I watched the Bill Nye and Ken Ham debate with my family! 🙂 It was interesting, but I am 100% a Creationist.
    Wonderful post! I really enjoy what you have to say and share.

    Jennifer~

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Glory to God alone. I’m a Creationist too! God bless you, Jennifer! 🙂 🙂 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

