The Undeserving Princess

And I will be a Father to you, and you shall be sons and daughters to me, says the Lord Almighty. – 2 Corinthians 6:18

As I was listening to Bach’s musical piece while reading a classic Christian book, I suddenly remember my love for stories about Monarch Royalties before that I sometimes fall asleep reading History Books.

You can sometimes associate anything that is Classical to Kings and Queens for most of them exist at the same era. In fact, some Classical Musicians wrote songs in honor to their Kings and Queens. And by now, probably, you already get the connection why that thought came out of my mind.

I love anything that is Classical because I find them having more substance than what this modern world has given us. My college roommates before can hardly imagine why I love it so much that I even listen to classical music before going to sleep. They sometimes even laugh about my taste. I know, my taste is something that is quite rare nowadays. 🙂

Kings and Queens. Princes and Princesses. Royal Palaces. Warriors and Heroes. Those are words that I used to love reading before. I’m not after any fairy tales, but true stories.

Growing up on a Christian Family, I know that God exists and He is the King of kings, but I rarely appreciate it before. The term ‘King of kings’ rarely appeal something big to me then.

On His robe and on His thigh He has a name written, King of kings and Lord of lords. –Revelation 19:16

But things changed now. I already stopped reading books about World History; put them all aside and gave way for the most amazing Book ever written in Human History —the Bible.

The Bible cannot hide the power of the King of all kings. He is supreme than anyone else in this world. He made a world out of nothing, and creatively designed every creatures. Truly Amazing.

But there was something that He did that I know I don’t deserve. He made me His child, His heir. He made me a Princess.

But to all who did receive Him, who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God. –John 1:12-13

I don’t deserve that royal title. Just like every other human beings, I was once His enemy. Someone who committed a heinous mistake against Him. Someone who cannot enter His kingdom. Someone who is unworthy of any royal dress and even to eat at the same table where He eats. I was a nobody; worse than any beggar on the streets.

But He chose to reconcile me to Him. He chose to send His Son to pay a debt I can never pay. He chose to lend a hand to someone like me who made foolishness to His name.

Amazing King. Who can ever resist to submit to a King like that; a King who is the Chiefest good?

It’s a title I can never boast as something I deserve. I did nothing to get that title. It was not a title earned by merely sweeping the streets of the Kingdom or do something good to someone else. It was a redemption and reconciliation I don’t deserve. But through His grace, it has been given to me as a gift.

The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him. –Romans 8:16-17

What a joy it is to become a part of His Kingdom. I could have been satisfied by merely being someone who can clean the rooms of His palace. But He chose to give me royal garments and prepared a seat for me at His table. He chose to make me His friend although I don’t deserve it. And that’s why all the glory belongs to Him alone.

No earthly King can ever do that. Only a loving God who is always good can do those things that are truly impossible for humans to achieve. He made us His children. He gave us a title we do not deserve. He gave life to our dead hearts. He draw us near to Him even though we chose to run away from Him before.

But since it is not something we deserve; it is not something we can take pride of, we cannot walk the streets of this world with so much pride in our hearts. We should not see ourselves to be higher than anybody else. Although we are His children and His heirs, we are not free to make our own laws and live a life that is contrary to what He wants.

God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!” So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir through God. –Galatians 4:7

He will always be a King. He has no beginning and no end, and we should always do what He wills. He still remains as God and we are not. We are not little gods either because we got our Royal title through adoption. Naturally, we cannot be like Him; a God. And every adopted child rejoices on that truth. That only means we will always depend on Him and not to ourselves. He will always be our Father and it’s more than enough.

Yes, I am a Princess. But I still sweep the floors, wash the dishes, do the laundry, iron my clothes, walk the streets, fall in line in the grocery store, go to church, read His Word, pray and say in every decision I make; “If the Lord wills”.

It simply says that I am a Princess but He will always be God; King of all kings; higher than anybody else. And always higher than me.

It takes a lowly walk to be His child. It takes self-denial and obedience. There are no children of God who are prideful. Everybody is under His power to walk a lowly walk whether you happen to be a boss in a company here on earth.

Our lives may have changed eversince He made us His children, but His essence never changed.

He is still God and always will be. And that fact should always humble us down even if He calls us His children.

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will exalt you. -James 4:10

God bless you, readers!

Soli Deo Gloria.

In Christ,

KrizSummer

7 Comments Add yours

  1. A Servant says:

    King of Kings! Praise be to God for giving us a place along side he Whois truly worthy.
    A Servant

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Amen. 🙂 He alone is worthy to be praised and worthy to be magnified. We are all enemies of His Kingdom but He chose to reconcile us to Him. Amazing Grace. 🙂

  2. Niyi Amuda says:

    Glory to God for translating from the kingdom of darkness into the Kingdom of His Dear Son. I don’t deserve a favour from My King yet He favour me all the same. Thank God I’m Forgiven and Favoured. Thanks Brother!

  3. Kriz, your words and message are so genuinely inspiring! They give birth to a lasting joyous smile, painting the day beautiful. You write from His love which fills your heart, nourishing it daily! And I find myself blessed to be able to embrace them. Thanks for the blessing you have shared dear sister!

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Thank you. 🙂 Glory to God alone. 🙂 God bless you.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I love classical things too! A good classic story beats a new modern teen novel any day! And classical music is so amazing! Sometimes it makes me cry because it’s just so beautiful!
    Great post! 🙂

    Jennifer~

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Glory to God alone! Me too, I sometimes get emotional with classical music. Haha. Thank you for reading my post, Jennifer. God bless you. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

