Superwoman Syndrome

To the woman God said, “I will surely multiply your pain in childbearing; in pain you shall bring forth children. Your desire shall be for your husband, and he shall rule over you.-Genesis 3:16 (ESV)

Then God said to the woman, “I will sharpen the pain of your pregnancy, and in pain you will give birth. And you will desire to control your husband, but he will rule over you.” -Genesis 6:16 (NLT)

I am a woman, and I believe we are equal in God’s sight, but let’s not forget that we have distinct roles. 

Everywhere I look, I can see many women desiring the roles of men. I believe this curse is not just focused on families. It’s visible everywhere we go.

I know the need for equality and justice when we talk about women abuse and human trafficking, but that’s just the outcome of a life not centered to God. Such incidents happen because many men are abusing the role that God has given them. But for now, that’s not the topic I am going to talk about. What I am going to talk about is how much women wants to rule the world without knowing that such desire is a curse.

I know the feeling of desiring to be a super woman, a kind of woman that makes the people praise you. I used to be like that. But then, I used to search for those praises outside the role God wants me to do.

Let’s accept it. There were no women praised in the Bible because she became the wisest woman, greatest leader of all and all the super achievements. Yes, we have Deborah in Judges, Chapter 4 and 5; who raised the banner of womanhood, but look more on her life. She did all of it because of her submission. She never wants to go to the battle because she doesn’t want Barak to be dishonored just because a woman lead the battle (Judges 4:9). Barak didn’t want to go on the battle alone, that’s why he asked Deborah to join him. But she knew all along where women should be. She knows that winning battles are for men. And let’s look more on Chapter 5 of Judges:

The villagers ceased in Israel; they ceased to be until I arose;I, Deborah, arose as a mother in Israel.

Judges 5:7

She didn’t sound like she wants to took over the role men have. She sounds like a caring mother who just wants peace in her house. 

Look at the life of Esther, although she’s a Queen, she never disobeyed Xerxes the way his ex-wife did. Submission to the authority of the one who rules us is the key to know deeper what’s the real role of women.

But why is it, only few women today truly loves the life of a housewife? Why do most women want to do the hard works men do? Is it because you wanted to be accepted in the society? You don’t need to be accepted by the whole community to know your worth. Embracing the role God has given you is the key to know your real worth.

I also understand this thing is not applicable to all of us. Even in our country, we couldn’t apply these thoroughly. We are a Third World Country, and that means more labor is needed for every family to have enough food to eat. I know the need because I can always see it. But my very point is, do we really need to desire to be a super woman type if we only want a simple life? No, we don’t. In the eyes of God, we don’t need such approval from this world.

Look at the world of Fashion and Cosmetics (And Plastic Surgery). Ask them why they have to do that. The common answer is they want to feel good about themselves. Is that really is? Or you just want to be seen in the world you thought you are invisible? Self pity is not from God. It’s a sin to pity yourself over and over on the wrong things. Pity yourself over your sinfulness and not because no one sees you. An Attention-Seeker only ends with a more desire of glorifying herself than glorifying God.

To be honest, I never saw my worth when I was still dancing in the world. I was a foolish woman then who wants to achieve the impossible. When I was in college, I wanted the best for me. I even worked so hard for my thesis, but only end up nominated (but not the best) for a ‘best thesis award’. I never made it to the top of my dreams as the best researcher in our batch. I never saw my worth in this world. I just saw nothing but an ambitious me who’s looking for my worth in the wrong places.

But when I fell in love with God, and decided to follow Him, my worth was magnified. It’s not the kind of worth that exalts myself. It’s a kind of worth that exalts the One who made me shine. I become more thankful of only holding the props for the One who really owns the stage. 

Women in the Bible never wanted the center stage. They know they are loved by God but never desired to rule over men. Stop drowning yourself with thoughts that doesn’t glorify your Maker. We are one body, and if we do the same function, the body will totally malfunction.

Look at our triune God. The Father, the Son, the Holy Spirit; equal in power and essence, but with different roles. And since we are made in the likeness of our God’s image, we are also equal in importance but differ in roles.

Men’s role is to become a leader, and a real man of God knows the true reason why they are given such responsilibility. Women’s role is different from them. We can do things that they cannot. So focus more on what you naturally do than pursuing the impossible. 

What else do we need then? Even God instructed men to love their wives as much as Christ loved the church, but let’s not forget what God instructed for women, put men first:

24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit in everything to their husbands.

25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her. -Ephesians 5:24-25

I find the need to talk about this because although I am not married, but when you reach the age of 20’s, women tend to start to find their true worth through their jobs and position in the society. 

I might want to carry the banner of true womanhood, but I want to do it through God’s way. I don’t want to raise our banner with a desire to over rule men. It’s not just an insult in men’s part, it’s also an insult to God, who made us unique.

Women, let’s be satisfied with our roles. We don’t need to be a Superwoman who saves the world. Our essence is magnified in God and not on the aspects of achieving the impossible.

God bless you. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. mwitasblog says:

    My sister, I greatly admire your spiritual discernment. I have been greatly blessed by this post and I thank you. I have decided to share it on my Facebook page.

    1. krizsummer says:

      All glory belongs to God. ^_^ God bless you. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

