When Your ACTIONS Don’t Match with What You Have UNDERSTOOD

Piano

It’s been an hour since I started looking at a musical piece I have in my hands. I understand it very well. Yes, very well; better than how much I understand intergral signs in Calculus and solve the redox reaction problem in Chemistry. But why is it my performance don’t match how well I understand it?Β  My left hand doesn’t go smoothly with my right hand anymore. I know the beat should be faster than how I performed it, but I just can’t speed it up. My left hand is really killing me.

Honestly, that experience frustrated me so much that I cried myself to sleep during that night. I miss the old me who can catch the fastest beat of an Indian musical piece and mixed the black and white keys in a Russian song. It seems like my love for music got oxygenated really well that my hands got so much rusty than what I expected. I blame myself for not playing for almost four years and now I am left with nothing but shaking hands. Is this possible? Can a pianist really forget how to do the usual thing? Maybe. It’s possible because I never tried to practice it for a while.

Geniuses do study. Your teachers have to review once in a while to familiarize everything. A preacher has to reread the passages in the Bible to be able to get what it really means. Even athletes do practice. Gymnasts even have to stretch their bodies at least thrice a week. Ballet dancers have to be strict in their diets. How much more then in the field of music where your mind and body should be synchronized? Beethoven, Chopin and Bach practiced everyday to get the fastest beat they want to reach. How much more me, who is just an average pianist who never even played one of their masterpieces? I could have tripled it the way they devoted their time for music, but my studies won’t allow me. Just imagine how frustrated I was. I wanted to regain what I have then but I just can’t. I can’t just let my studies be left behind. Although both of them means so much to me, but I have to choose what will affect my future more.

My hopes are gone. I don’t know what to do to be able to redeem my skills again. Regrets flooded once more. I never thought before about the frustrations I could get from suppressing what I love. Although I’m on my way back to my old state now (thank God, I am still able to finish the complete ‘Swan Lake’ piece) but I know I should not be satisfied with that. I should practice more.

I think you know now where this topic is going. I hope so. πŸ™‚

Just like how I got frustrated with my music skills, the same thing can happen to anyone who never practice their faith. You might have been believing in Christ for a very long time, but your actions can tell other people the opposite. In Christian life, it also takes a lot of practice to be able to attain what God goals you to be. You need to submit yourself and allow His works in your life.

In 19th Century, most of the people especially the educated ones got obsessed in studying religion. Some of them even spent their whole life studying God’s Word but only few really made it well in their actions. Many believers then still despise other people, and cannot accept the fact that they must deny themselves. Slavery and racism were still rampant, and poverty was still on its heights. How could that thing happen if most of them love religion? Easy. They might have understood the existence of God but never embrace Him for who He is.

True faith is shown through your actions. If you truly love the LORD, you’ll love the people that He loves and despise the things that He really hates. If you really understood who He is, you’ll be left seeking Him more through His Word and eventually show His love for others through your actions.

What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, β€œGo in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what goodis that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

Β But someone will say, β€œYou have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works. You believe that God is one; you do well. Even the demons believeβ€”and shudder! Do you want to be shown, you foolish person, that faith apart from works is useless? Was not Abraham our father justified by works when he offered up his son Isaac on the altar? You see that faith was active along with his works, and faith was completed by his works; and the Scripture was fulfilled that says, β€œAbraham believed God, and it was counted to him as righteousness”—and he was called a friend of God. You see that a person is justified by works and not by faith alone. And in the same way was not also Rahab the prostitute justified by works when she received the messengers and sent them out by another way?

For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so also faith apart from works is dead.

James 2:14-26

Just like everything else that we usually do, our faith to God also needs to be cultivated everyday. It should be watered, cherished, pampered and expressed so that in God’s perfect time, you will be able to share Him to other people. Pray everyday; talk to God every now and then. Tell Him how eager you are to change. Don’t just pray when you needed something. A true relationship with God is build around prayers. It’s like keeping the rope between you and the most special person in your life.

Never ever forget to read His Word everyday. Although I always read a lot of Christian books, but I strongly believe that nothing beats the wisdom that God’s Word gives. Don’t let a day pass by without even meditating in God’s Word because the more you ignore it, the more you will drag yourself away from the chance of knowing Him and loving Him.

And if you make those things your habit, you will eventually see changes in your life. You can see yourself living the way you understood His Word. Your actions now match what you learn from His Word.

It always takes practice because we are still in these earthly bodies that can still desire the wordly things. But if walking with God has become your greatest love, His Word will always rescue you from the next trap the enemy is preparing for you.

We need to get our head on this race!Β  We are running not just for the sake of being on the race. We are running to win it. πŸ™‚

Be at peace among yourselves. Admonish the idle,encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. Do not quench the Spirit. Do not despise prophecies, but test everything; hold fast what is good. Abstain from every form of evil. –1 Thessalonians 5:13-22

God Bless you, reader! πŸ™‚

13 Comments Add yours

  1. "light and salt" says:

    A great post, Kris! That old saying is true: “sometimes, the only bible people “read” is you!” We need to reflect our Christianity in our daily actions or like it is with anything, if we don’t use it, we lose it!

    One other old adage: “Always preach a Godly lesson. When necessary, use words!”

    Steve Pejay

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Hello, Steve. πŸ™‚ Amen. πŸ™‚ You’re right. Thank you for reading this post. God bless you always. πŸ™‚

      1. "light and salt" says:

        Wow…3 happy faces! That’s a personal best for me in just one reply!

        I loved your blog and will try to make it a regular stop!

        Enjoy your day…Kriz…(see, got the spelling right!)

        πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I got smiley faces too…
        Steve πŸ™‚

      2. KrizSummer says:

        Haha! I love smileys a lot. Thank you so much. πŸ™‚ Enjoy your day, too. God bless you. πŸ™‚

      3. "light and salt" says:

        And πŸ™‚ may πŸ™‚ you πŸ™‚ continue πŸ™‚ to πŸ™‚ use πŸ™‚ those πŸ™‚ “smilies” πŸ™‚ Kirs…

        πŸ™‚

  2. "light and salt" says:

    *Kriz…so sorry to misspell your name!

    Steve 😦

    1. KrizSummer says:

      That’s fine, Steve. πŸ™‚ Sometimes they call me Kris. So it’s okay with me. πŸ™‚

      1. "light and salt" says:

        I like “Kris” if that’s okay? I’ll take that as a “yes!”

        Enjoy the rest of your day or evening,
        Steve πŸ™‚

      2. KrizSummer says:

        It’s fine with me. πŸ™‚ You too, Steve. God bless.

  3. I am very happy to read this. A wonderful thing to ponder. πŸ™‚

    1. KrizSummer says:

      Thank you. πŸ™‚ Glory to God alone. God bless you always. πŸ™‚

Share Your Thoughts

